In Limbo, In a New Shirt, Writing a Letter

Dear kind reader:

I bought two new shirts today, one polo and one t-shirt. I had to — the few shirts  I brought are either wearing out or float around me like a cloud. I’m losing weight, in case you didn’t get my point.

Anyway, today was the heralded day for clothes shopping. Besides general necessity, I had a reason. Thanks to the intercession of someone from an embassy here, I suddenly had a social life last night, and it was due to continue tonight. Also, I was planning to travel to Kawkaban tomorrow.

Plans, you are a fickle mistress.

I ate a shawarma sandwich off the street today, purchased from a guy along al-Zubairi. Now Mom and the CDC, I know what you’re thinking. But I’ve eaten plenty of food from street vendors without paying any sort of physical price.

Today, as he assembled the sandwich I idly looked at the ingredients and thought, “I wonder if this will be the sandwich of doom.”

I am a prophet.

After some miserable time spent next door in the bathroom, I’m now recovering on a bed, wearing one of my new shirts, trying to rehydrate with water.  Still ill, I called off the social event.

Now I find that after initially approving the trip to Kawkaban, The Yemen government in its wisdom has withdrawn permission. Attempts to regain such permission continue, but right now travel plans are uncertain. I can speculate, but I’m not fully sure why the government changed its mind.

Also uncertain: my general physical well-being.

In limbo, wearing a new shirt, from my bed, as the power flickers in and out,

I remain,

respectfully yours,

-Jeremy

2 Comments

Filed under Yemen

2 responses to “In Limbo, In a New Shirt, Writing a Letter

  1. mom

    Oh no! Hope you get better soon.
    Praying for you. Lotsa love.

  2. Brown County Mom also hopes you are better by now and drinking lots of safe fluids. Sending love and prayers for rapid healing!
    Ole Susanna

Leave a comment